Show Summary Details

Page of

PRINTED FROM OXFORD FIRST SOURSCE ( (c) Oxford University Press, 2013. All Rights Reserved. Under the terms of the licence agreement, an individual user may print out a PDF of a single chapter of a title in Oxford FIRST SOURCE for personal use (for details see Privacy Policy and Legal Notice).

date: 02 August 2021

Abstract and Keywords

Born in Budapest and educated in Austria, Arthur Koestler (1905–1983) was a member of the Communist Party from 1931 to 1938, when he resigned his membership. He wrote many novels, essays, and other works of nonfiction, and in 1968 he was awarded the Sonning prize for “outstanding contribution to European culture.” The God That Failed, published in 1949, was made up of six essays on the shared theme of disillusionment with Communism. Billed as “a confession,” the six contributing writers tell the stories of their ultimately disappointing relationship with Communism.

From Arthur Koestler, The God That Failed. New York: Harper’s, 1949, pp. 17, 23, 24, 29–31, 48–9, 71–2, 74–5.

Access to the complete content on Oxford First Source requires a subscription or purchase. Public users are able to search the site and view the abstracts and keywords for each book and chapter without a subscription.

Please subscribe or login to access full text content.

If you have purchased a print title that contains an access token, please see the token for information about how to register your code.

For questions on access or troubleshooting, please check our FAQs, and if you can''t find the answer there, please contact us.